So, if honey isn't vegan because of "animal exploitation", what other foods are not vegan?
- Kiwi fruit
- Cashew nuts
- Star fruit
- Rapeseed oil
- Canola oil
- Chilli peppers, Red peppers, Green peppers, Bell peppers
- Cotton (not a foodstuff, but you can't wear this as a vegan either)
- Sunflower oil
- Black currant
- Red currant
- Sesame seeds
All of the above crops rely on pollination by bees to produce the end food product that ends up in your mouth. While honeybees aren't the only insect pollinator, industrial level agriculture which is used to feed the millions of Western mouths in the modern world requires managed honeybee colonies to be placed on farmland to ensure adequate pollination. By eating any of the above crops, you are eating something that can only be produced on the scale that it is today specifically because of human-managed honeybee colonies, and thus, should not be considered "vegan".
Think about that next time you try to vilify beekeepers for their "overall lack of respect for bees".
While not all vegans think like this, there is definitely a vocal minority who spout this kind of ridiculous nonsense without realising the implications of what they say.
The video in question, by the way: